Non-Owner Occupied Residential Property Registry


The City of Jackson is extending the deadline for property owners to register their housing rentals. At their meeting on Tuesday, May 26, the Jackson City Council approved an extension of the Non-Owner Occupied Residential Property (NOORP) deadline from July 1, 2020 to Sept. 11, 2020 for the 2020-2022 registration cycle. 

According to the Jackson Code of Ordinances, owners of housing rental properties must register their properties with the City’s Department of Neighborhood and Economic Operations every two years. Late charges are applied if property owners fail to register by the annual July 1 deadline.

Jackson City Hall has been closed to the public since mid-March due to Gov. Gretchen Whitmer’s COVID-19 Executive Orders. Because of the closure, property owners have not been permitted to enter City Hall to file their NOORP registrations. City staff have also not been able to mail reminder notices due to the closure.

The deadline extension to Friday, Sept. 11 allows property owners more time to register their properties and avoid late charges, along with giving City staff more time to mail reminder notices and process registration applications. The extension is only in effect for the 2020-2022 registration cycle. New home purchases intended to be used for something other than the primary residence of the buyer still need to be registered within the 45 day window. 

The full NOORP resolution (PDF) is available to view on this web page.

Registering a Non-Owner Occupied Property

Chapter 14 of the Code of Ordinances establishes a Non-Owner Occupied Residential Property Registry (NOORPR), requiring any non-owner occupied residential dwelling or unit be registered with the Department of Neighborhood and Economic Operations.Owners of a non-owner occupied residential dwelling or unit must complete and file an NOORPR Application (PDF) to register the property.


Registration fees are $30 per structure plus $10 for each non-owner occupied dwelling unit. If a current property owner does not register his or her non-owner occupied residential dwelling or unit by July 1, 2018 or within 45 days of a transfer of ownership, a late fee of $5 per unit per day will be charged in addition to the registration fee.