News Flash


Posted on: December 2, 2019

Mayor, City Councilmembers take oaths of office for new terms

Mayor Derek Dobies with his hand up taking the oath of office

Oaths of office took place at Tuesday night's Jackson City Council meeting for the Mayor and three Councilmembers. 

Mayor Derek Dobies has officially begun his second term as Mayor, which will be a two year term. Second Ward Councilmember Freddie Dancy is starting his second four year term. Also starting new four year terms are Councilmember Laura Dwyer Schlecte from the Fourth Ward and Councilmember Will Forgrave from the Sixth Ward. Dwyer Schlecte previously served the Fourth Ward on the council from 2011 to 2015. This is the first elected office for Forgrave. 

The council also voted to continue having First Ward Councilmember Arlene Robinson serve as Vice Mayor. Third Ward Councilmember Jeromy Alexander was named the council’s Chief Parliamentarian.

The only City business that was voted on was the schedule for next year’s City Council meetings, which was approved unanimously.

Councilmember Will ForgraveCouncilmember Laura Dwyer SchlecteCouncilmember Freddie DancyMayor Derek Dobies with his hand up taking the oath of office

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Leaf vacuum equipment gets ready to suck up a pile of leaves

Updates on loose leaf collection locations

Posted on: November 22, 2019
council 10 15

Jackson City Council Nov. 26, 2019 Meeting

Posted on: November 26, 2019
Wide view of the City Council sitting during a City Council meeting in the City Council Chambers.

Jackson City Council Nov. 12, 2019 Meeting

Posted on: November 13, 2019
sept 3 meeting

Jackson City Council Sept. 3, 2019 meeting

Posted on: September 3, 2019

Happy 190th Birthday to Jackson!

Posted on: July 3, 2019